Cauliflower Carrot Soup

As many of you may know, my wonderful mum 😉 has a company called Pantry TakeOver and we are constantly sharing new recipes with each other. Here is one of her tasty creations (photographed by me last year)  that she had posted on her blog. This Cauliflower Carrot Soup  is packed ful of vitamins and veggies and disguised as a creamy, hearty dish. For more wonderful recipes and tips, schedule a consult with Pantry TakeOver (phone and Skype consults available) ~rosie

Cauliflower Carrot Soup 

“I was at Whole Foods this morning and was immediately drawn to the large orange bunches of cauliflower that stood out at the beginning of the produce section.   Many people only picture cauliflower as a white vegetable but I like to buy orange, purple and white cauliflower. I love trying different hues of vegetables because each hue has its own unique nutritional make up.  For instance, orange cauliflower has 25% more beta carotene then the more popular white variety and purple cauliflower contains phytonutrients, phytonutrients help our body to fight cancer.

When cooked, orange Cauliflower is a bit creamier then the other hues so I decided that today was a great day to make my daughters favorite soup: Creamy Cauliflower  Carrot Soup.  This soup is loaded with healthy veggies and is dairy and gluten free.  A perfect way to warm your tummy on a cool day.

Creamy Cauliflower Carrot Soup
1 tbs coconut oil
1 small onion (diced small)
1 Stalk of organic celery

2 tbs of freshly grated ginger
3 medium carrots
3 cups of chopped cauliflower
1/2 cup of raw cashews
4 cups of chicken or vegetable stock
salt and pepper to taste

Saute onion, celery and ginger with coconut oil, in a large iron skillet (can use any type of skillet but I prefer iron skillets when cooking, to give additional iron to my food) until soft.  Add carrot, cauliflower, and cashews and sprinkle with about 1 tsp of salt.  Cover the pan and cook for about 10 mins on med low heat, make sure to stir occasionally.  Add the stock and cover and simmer until everything is very soft and tender.  Puree the Soup in a food processor, blender or vita mix.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

This soup is great when sprinkled with some goat cheese crumbles or toasted pine nuts.”

-janell of Pantry Takeover

7 thoughts on “Cauliflower Carrot Soup

  1. I love this Cauliflower Carrot Soup recipe. I would make it with vegetable stock and garnish it with vegan cheeze, gluten free croutons or slices scallions. Thanks for visiting my blog, UrbanNaturale.com. I really appreciate it.

  2. Rosie, you continue to inspire me every single day! Your passion for healthy eating and your commitment to helping others learn about wellness is contagious and is why I started Pantry TakeOver. I know you will continue to teach and uncover the issues with the SAD (Standard American Diet). I love you dearly and I honestly feel like the proudest mom on earth!

Leave a Reply

