(macaroon inspired) Coconut Cookies

mail-2

(macaroon inspired) Coconut Cookies

I love french style macaroons! They are tasty, cute, colorful, and usually gluten free. I was recently in St. Augustine Florida (the oldest city in America) and stopped by a favorite popsicle shop of mine called “the hypo.” Across the street was a little bakery that sold french style macaroons. I got really excited and somehow convinced my family that we needed to check it out. I then discovered that the macaroons were gluten free because they are made with almond flour! Thats great and all for people like my brother, who can’t eat wheat, but for me… not so much. I am allergic to nuts and seeds so almond flour is off limits. But, ohhhhhh did those macaroons look tempting!!!!! I decided to find a recipe using coconut flour instead of almond meal. I couldn’t find a single decent one! I am sure there is a good “coconut flour french macaroon recipe” out there (wow, that was long to type!) but I sure couldn’t find one. I decided to play around with common macaroon ingredients and see what i came up with…. here is the finished product!

If you like this recipe please suggest it to others and feel free to leave me a comment, thank you!

mail-1

Keep in mind that these cookies are not gaps or low sugar.  I used healthier ingredients, all except for the powder sugar, but these are still desserts to be eaten on special occasions like holidays and birthdays (mine is in a week!!!).

Ingredients:

  • a little over half a cup of powdered sugar
  • one egg white
  • 2 heaping tablespoon coconut flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • a bit of vanilla
  • change up this recipe a bit with food colours or cocoa powder
  • filling of choice (jam, creme, nut butter, ect…)

Preheat oven to 325. In a bowl, whisk egg whites til frothy and foamy. Slowly whisk in powder sugar. Add in vanilla, baking soda,  and coconut flour and continue to whisk until well combined. Pipe batter onto a cookie sheet covered in parchment paper. Bake for about 15-20 minutes, remove from oven when the cookies are firm and easy to remove from parchment paper. Use cookies to sandwich the filling, eat, and enjoy!!

P.s. you may want to double batch

~rosie

Leave a Reply

