Coconut Snowballs (raw, gaps, dairy free)

Photo on 2013-06-06 at 14.15

Snowballs (raw, gaps, dairy free)

Adapted from the no bake Coconut Crack Balls

So… I am one of those people who spends a lot of time down south. In the winter I “migrate” down to my grandmother’s house in Florida every time it get cold. To say the least, I don’t see a lot of snow. That didn’t stop me from making “snowballs,” and you can too with this simple, raw recipe! You can make snowballs down south or up north to enjoy with a nice warm cup of  hot chocolate or while you are lounging around poolside with an icy pina coloda. Today (and yes, i am at my grandmas house) a very Russian friend of mine ,Marina, tried these and said “Rosie made them to be good, but they came out STUPENDOUS!!!” So eat, enjoy and LOVE these tasty little guys!!!

If you like this recipe please suggest it to others and feel free to leave me a comment, thank you!

Photo on 2013-06-06 at 14.21

Ingredients

  • a cup of dried coconut flakes (i like this brand)
  • 3-4 tbs honey or maple syrup (i use a combination of the two)
  • 2 tbs coconut oil
  • vanilla (however much you like, i typically use 1/2 teaspoon)
  • a pinch of salt

In a food processor, combine coconut flakes, coconut oil, and maple syrup/honey. When the “snow” reaches a semi-smooth/nutty consistency, add in vanilla (and any other spices you like) to taste. Roll into balls and place on a baking sheet or plate. Put the snowballs fridge to chill until firm. You can dip these in chocolate, sprinkle spices over them, or even drizzle honey on them. Store in fridge to prevent from melting. Enjoy!

Photo on 2013-06-06 at 14.20

P.S. My ENTIRE family loves these so much, we all split the last snowball to be fair! I like to double this recipe so that I don’t have to make them everyday. I served the snowballs with a slice of blueberry cheese cake in the picture at the top.

~rosie

One thought on “Coconut Snowballs (raw, gaps, dairy free)

  1. My brother pretty much only likes things if they’re filled with sugar so I am constantly trying to find healthier alternatives for him. When I first made these, I had him test to make sure they were good enough to post. He took a bite as the whole family eagerly awaited his verdict. After finishing the snowball, he looked up and said “Can I pleaseeee have another??”

    ~rosie

Leave a Reply

